Cletrac.org
June 30, 2022, 02:49:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Wishing you folks all a very Merry Christmas! From Blake Malkamaki and Cletrac.org.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: air filter  (Read 3344 times)
oliverjunkie
phpBB Operator

View Profile
« on: October 03, 2010, 10:40:55 PM »

Hey, Everybody
I'm just getting started on my OC3 restoration.  I was making a list of small items that need to be found, replaced, upgraded or fixed.  I'm looking at the oil-bath air filter set up and wondering if I should retain that or adapt a replaceable paper filter.
Rich
hotratz
phpBB THE Boss

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2010, 01:13:11 PM »

Personally I think you should retain the oil bath filter.

oliverjunkie
phpBB Operator

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2010, 02:55:00 PM »

Steve,
Any reason other that maintaining originality?  I was missing the tube from the filter to the carb which got me thinking about upgrading.  I guess that's now moot since I went ahead and ordered one from Zimmerman.
hotratz
phpBB THE Boss

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2010, 04:20:36 PM »

The oil bath filter is a much better dust environment filter. A paper filter will plug pretty quickly. I see you're in Western Wa. so dust isn't really a problem is it? :x

Bob
phpBB THE Boss

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2010, 08:00:24 PM »

I like the oil baths, doesn't cost any money to replace for us cheapskates! They work very well for filtering also.

Certified Cletrac-tard
oliverjunkie
phpBB Operator

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2010, 11:17:34 PM »