Cletrac.org
June 26, 2022, 01:06:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Wishing you folks all a very Merry Christmas! From Blake Malkamaki and Cletrac.org.

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking at buying a crawler  (Read 5224 times)
Wes (MI)
phpBB Operator

View Profile
« on: December 26, 2010, 03:28:06 PM »

I'm interestead in purchasing an old crawler/dozer, and need some recommendations. I need it to be a gas engine, wieghs between 4K-8K preferably ( it will be towed behind a '93 Chevy K2500), and have a decent parts support for it. I do like the styling of the olivers and Cletracs. I don't mind working on stuff, I've restored a couple of Ford tractors, rebuilt motors, differentials and I am a welder by trade. I plan on using it for some stump removale, site clearing, road cutting, etc. I need a small crash course in what to look for, and what to walk away from. I don't have any crawler experience. Thanks.

-Wes
ianoz
phpBB THE Boss

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2010, 08:54:10 PM »

Hi Wes ,Welcome to the forum . I think it would be unrealistic to tell you parts are available and  easy to find for any brand of tractor . But with the network of helpfull people here  most things are possible 

Hopefully guys like Hotratz will get their restoration thread photos posted back up  so you and others can  appreciate  some great machines .

Myself a HG/OC3 sounds like it would fit your requirements nicely ,Complete with a blade or loader  woukd be a usefull tool as well as a show piece . Ian .
John Schwiebert
phpBB THE Boss

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2010, 10:01:47 PM »

For the weight and your intended function, I would a BG or an OC-12 gas would fit your bill. The HG/OC-3 is not going to cut what you are going to do.

John Schwiebert
ianoz
phpBB THE Boss

View Profile